“American” Dream

 This post has been popping up on my facebook page lately.  http://whatever.scalzi.com/2005/09/03/being-poor/

It lists some of the realities of being poor.  I am so thankful that I have not been in many of these situations but I have been close too close for comfort.  I am fortunate that I was able to take time after I was laid off to job search.  My unemployment income while less that my employment covers my bills with a bit leftover.  I am thankful hubby is supportive of me not rushing into an unsatisfying position just to have a job.  

The above link and my time off work has made me ponder the so-called American dream.  You know the one with a big house, 2 new cars, all the required boats and toys and vacations to somewhere tropical.  I have known for sometime that this life wasn’t for me but the last 6 months have made this even more clear.

I have LOVED my time at home.  I can play in the kitchen, garden or the shop.  My time is my own and is not controlled by a boss requiring me to make them more money.  That said, I do miss working.  I miss the daily challenges that came with my job.  When I go back to work though I want to be sure it doing something that keeps me happy and allows me to bloom.

I am satisfied with our simple life in our little house on the plains and this makes me happy.
  

Leave a Reply

